Monday, March 10, 2008

The finalists for this year's Wooden Award were announced today and the UConn Huskies have two of the 17 finalists. The winner will be announced on April 12 in Los Angeles.

The finalists are:
Natalie Doma, Idaho State
Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Amber Holt, Middle Tennessee State
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia
Crystal Kelly, Western Kentucky
Crystal Langhorne, Maryland
Erlana Larkins, North Carolina
Angel McCoughtry, Louisville
Maya Moore, Connecticut
Courtney Paris, Oklahoma
Candace Parker, Tennessee
Epiphanny Prince, Rutgers
Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State
Angela Tisdale, Baylor
Kristi Toliver, Maryland
Candice Wiggins , Stanford

I have to think this comes down to about a third of the players, with Moore, Parker, Fowles, Langhorne and Paris being the main contenders. Logic would say that with Fowles besting Parker for SEC player of the year that Parker is out, but that's simply not how awards work.

No comments: